Happy Homemaker Monday 01.11.16

Hey There…looks like winter has finally arrived.  We had a little bit of snow on Saturday, and now it is fa-reezing!!  Single digits with wind chills below zero.  We might get more snow in the next couple of days!! 😀 Everyone is feeling better, now I feel like I can get my new year started!!

Linking-up with Sandra at Diary of a Stay at Home Mom.

 

THE WEATHER OUTSIDE IS:

weather0111

WHAT I HAVE READ:
Underwood, Scotch, and Wry by Brian D. Meeks. This was one of those ones that Amazon advertised on my Kindle. I want to read more things out of the norm, and this was just that, but I liked it. Very dry, sarcastic, snarky humor throughout.

Arthur Byrne is a 50-ish year old Lit Professor, who doesn’t like anything, he says whatever he wants without apology. He likes to talk about literature and is a published author himself, of one book. He hasn’t written since, because he claims he has forgotten how. The Dean of the college wants to get rid of him, because she feels he doesn’t represent the fine reputation of the school. She has him to teach a class on Social Media, thinking he will totally fail, since he abhors technology. He does find himself in a compromising situation, which isn’t hard, since he does drink a lot. If only the depiction of campus life was embellished for entertainment’s sake, sadly I’m sure it was spot on. Beyond that, I enjoyed all the social media talk in this book, the character as a writer, and the relationships between him and his TA’s and how social media bridges the age gap, as they communicate through twitter.

LOL CHUCKLES, AND GIGGLES:
12400466_1025625247508144_5811484565308342260_n

RECIPE I HAVE TRIED:
I did try the Classic Chicken and Noodle Casserole, and it was very good. I think I would add maybe a little more pepper to it. It’s good re-heated as well.

CLASSIC CHICKEN NOODLE CASSEROLE

Serves 8IMG_0579

Ingredients

1 pound egg noodles
2-3 cups cooked chicken, cubed
1 (14 oz.) can cream of chicken soup
1 (10.75 oz.) can condensed cream of mushroom soup *
1 (16 oz.) bag frozen peas and carrots
3/4 cup heavy cream
2/3 cup parmesan cheese, grated
1/2 cup cheddar cheese, grated
1/3 cup seasoned Italian breadcrumbs
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1 teaspoon garlic salt
kosher salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

* I used cream of celery soup as I do not do mushrooms at all.

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 375∫ F.

2. Bring a large pot of salted water to boil and cook egg noodles according to packaging directions, or until al dente.

3. Drain and set aside.

4. In a large bowl, combine soups and heavy cream and stir together to mix.

5. Add frozen vegetables, cheddar cheese, cubed chicken and egg noodles, and season with garlic salt and pepper.

6. Pour mixture into a large casserole dish and lightly tap it against the counter to remove air bubbles and smooth it out.

7. In a separate bowl, toss together breadcrumbs, parmesan cheese and melted butter. Sprinkle evenly over the top of casserole.

8. Place baking dish in oven and bake for 30-35 minutes, or until vegetables are tender and sauce is bubbly.

9. Remove from oven and let cool 5 minutes. Transfer to serving bowls and garnish with more cheese.

This is what I want to try next…Ice Cream Bread. Never thought you could bake ice cream, looks interesting!!  Maybe when it warms up….like in the 30s, LOL.

FAVORITE BLOG POST:
I thought this was so clever. With all the cooking vidoes that you see, this is so creative, I would love to have one of these!!

FROM THE CAMERA:
This is my youngest son’s Ice Bear…I think he’s the only one enjoying this frigid weather.

QUOTES:

 

It’s always sad to hear when a musical legend passes away.

“Time may change me, but I can’t trace time.”

R.I.P
David Bowie

His music will live on…this one still streams on my Pandora

7 thoughts on “Happy Homemaker Monday 01.11.16

  1. We have the freezing fun stuff here too! I love your snow inspiration, though, so pretty and true. 🙂 And your son’s bear is darn cute too!

    Your recipes look quite tasty my Dear! Chicken noodle comfort food – can’t go wrong.

    That video is adorable and hilarious. Ah – if only. ::sigh::

    It is sad about David Bowie isn’t it? Too young.

    Blessings on the rest of your week my Dear Friend xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just don’t think I could bring myself to cook ice cream no matter how cold it was outside but I’ll be curious to hear about the ice cream bread. Hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wonder now why I’ve never tried Chicken noodle. We’ve always had tuna noodle over the years. Yikes! It’s cold in your corner of the world. Fun quote! Have a wonderful week…

    Liked by 1 person

I appreciate your comments...so go ahead and leave one...don't be shy :-) (comments show up once I approve them).

