Happy Homemaker Monday 12/21

Enjoying my first day of Christmas break.  A little gloomy and soggy outside, it rained and rained last night…if only that had been snow!!  I cannot believe another Christmas is upon us. My daughter and I shopped for all our wrapping paper, bows and bags.  I am looking forward to wrapping all the gifts.  I have more fun doing that than shopping!!  Wishing everyone a very Merry Christmas filled with your heart’s desires!!

Linking-up with Sandra at Diary of a Stay at Home Mom.

 

THE WEATHER OUTSIDE IS:
No white Christmas for us 😦

weather1221

MOVIE REVIEW:1450415162343
The Spirit of Christmas on the Lifetime channel. Old haunted Inn, at Christmastime, with a handsome ghost. The story was good, and the scenery was absolutely gorgeous. I usually don’t watch many made-for-TV movies, but my mom saw this one advertised and told me about it.

 

LOL CHUCKLES, AND GIGGLES:

 

HOLIDAY PREP TO DO:
Help my daughter get things ready for her homemade hot chocolate get together with her friends on Wednesday. I really enjoy seeing all these young adults get together. These are the twin’s friends they grew up with, and the new friends they have met since we moved here 3 years ago. So many different personalities, but they all get along so well, always a fun time.

Wrap presents 🙂

FAVORITE VIDEO/BLOG POST:
I came across this article from Crosswalk.com. Being that I love A Charlie Brown Christmas, and that I am a kindred spirit with Linus because of his blanket, what they point out is truly the real meaning of Christmas. For as many times as I have watched this special, I have never noticed that there is a moment when Linus drops his blanket. They go on to explain it here and it’s significance:

Charlie Brown is best known for his uniquely striped shirt, and Linus is most associated with his ever-present security blanket. Throughout the story of Peanuts, Lucy, Snoopy, Sally and others all work to no avail to separate Linus from his blanket. And even though his security blanket remains a major source of ridicule for the otherwise mature and thoughtful Linus, he simply refuses to give it up.

Until this moment. When he simply drops it.

In that climactic scene when Linus shares “what Christmas is all about,” he drops his security blanket, and I am now convinced that this is intentional. Most telling is the specific moment he drops it: when he utters the words, “fear not.” Looking at it now, it is pretty clear what Charles Schultz was saying, and it’s so simple it’s brilliant.

The birth of Jesus allows us to simply drop the false security we have been grasping so tightly, and learn to trust and cling to Him instead.

But in the midst of fear and insecurity, this simple cartoon image from 1965 continues to live on as an inspiration for us to seek true peace and true security in the one place it has always been and can always still be found.  (www.crosswalk.com/special-coverage/christmas-and-advent/just-drop-the-blanket-the-moment-you-never-noticed-in-a-charlie-brown-christmas.html)


QUOTES:
its-the-most-wonderful-time-of-year-wall-sticker-big

FROM THE CAMERA:

© 2015 Liv’s Photography

ON MY HOLIDAY PLAYLIST:
These are the sounds of Christmas for me!!

Do You Hear What I Hear – Whitney Houston

 

Christmas Canon – Trans-Siberian Orchestra

Christmas Time is Here – Vince Guaraldi (My daughter can actually play this one on the piano, so beautiful)

Charlie Brown Christmas Dance (Linus & Lucy by Vince Guaraldi)

 

4 More sleeps until Christmas!!

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Homemaker Monday 12/21

  1. Sending you frosty wishes my Friend! We have a little on the ground and now today it’s snowing!! Hope things turn white for you. Sounds like you’re getting all set. Hope these final days aren’t stressful and just filled with fun.

    I love our times like this together and feel so blessed to have such a wonderful blogland buddy like you dear Friend. Love your insights, books, videos and sharing in general. Hope you have a blessed Christmas and joyful New Year filled with all good things!!
    God bless dear Carebear. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

I appreciate your comments...so go ahead and leave one...don't be shy :-) (comments show up once I approve them).

