Happy Homemaker Monday 12/07

Late post today.  Had a busy weekend preparing and attending the Library’s Fundraising Gala.  It was a lot of work, but fun to decorate, and was worth it.  It was a beautiful event, and many of the guests hinted at what it would be like next year.  My daughter and I made ourselves all fancy and had a nice time.  See the pics below.

Linking-up with Sandra at Diary of a Stay at Home Mom.

 

THE WEATHER OUTSIDE IS:

weather1207

WHAT I’M READING/HAVE READ:
Still reading The Mistletoe Inn by Richard Paul Evans.  I am about half way through it, but didn’t get much reading time this weekend.  It is really good so far, I like when I can’t figure out a character.  Hope to finish it tonight.

FAVORITE RECIPE TO SHARE:
Next to Roshky, this is my next favorite Christmas cookie.

Chocolate Filled SnowballsIMG_1496

  • ½ lb soft butter
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup finely chopped pecans or walnuts
  • 1 5 ounce pkg chocolate kisses
  • Confectioner’s sugar
Instructions
  1. Beat sugar, butter and vanilla until light and fluffy.
  2. Add sifted flour and nuts and blend well. Chill dough.
  3. Remove foil from kisses. Shape dough around kisses, using about 1T dough. Roll into ball. Be sure to cover kiss completely.
  4. Place on ungreased cookie sheet and bake in 375 degree oven for 12 minutes or until set but not brown.
  5. Cool slightly, then remove to wire racks.
  6. While still a little warm, roll in confectioner’s sugar. Makes about 2 dozen cookies.  I sprinkle more powder sugar on them when I put them on a serving tray.

LOL CHUCKLES, AND GIGGLES:

HOLIDAY PREP TO DO:
I am planning on doing some baking this week.  We had a lot of leftover goodies from the Gala.  My son is a busser at a local restaurant, and they had a holiday party over the weekend, he brought home some kind of cake from that.  Then my neighbor gave us a tray full of cupcakes from one of their Christmas events.  Never thought I’d ever say it, but that’s a lot of sweets 🙂  Looks like I’ll be baking at the end of the week, if I’m not in a sugar coma.

THING’S I’M LOOKING FORWARD TO:
This Saturday, the town will have over a dozen ice sculptors on the main street.  Also, the reindeer will be back with their trainer, where you can take pictures with them.  OMG  the reindeer!!  They were in the parade on Friday, and the one was so adorable!!  It’s like he had a personality, his face was just too adorable!!

FAVORITE VIDEO/BLOG POST:
I found this video a couple of years ago, and I don’t know how.  Probably looking for the Pentatonix rendition of Little Drummer boy, which is really good.  This is an added twist.  This guy is a drummer, and he does videos just drumming to various songs.  This is the behind the scenes video which I thought was so much fun to watch, just to see what these guys did to make this video.  The actual video plays in the upper left hand corner, but you can watch it here.   I have always enjoyed watching drummers (my brother is one) because they always seem to have so much fun.  Awesome drumming!!

PICS FROM THE GALA:

The Food Table.

Graphic1

Decorations…There are two fire places in the library, this is one of them.

deco

The library has some beautiful architectural features.  It was expanded some years ago, but they kept the original design of the building.  Me and my favorite girl!! ♥

menlivdeco

All these decorations were brought in and put up by one of the residents, he also works for the city.

rotundadeco

Music provided by the Heavenly Harps.  This is a mom and her three daughters.  All three girls have been classically trained on piano as well.  She has a few more kids at home, and she home schools them as well.  The Harp music is just simply beautiful.  They also do healing music, for more information you can visit their website:  heavenlyharps.net

harps

These are the front cases that are in the entryway.  My mom, daughter and I decorated these.  The wooden sleigh is my mom’s.  Her dad made it in the summer of 1958.  He made one for each of his kids, which has been a treasured keepsake for them, since he passed away the day after Christmas that same year.

cases

QUOTES:

MY HOLIDAY PLAYLIST:
I really like Ariana Grande.  This is my get-up-and-go Christmas song 🙂 My daughter has been singing this one around the house, you’ll be singing it too once you listen.

18 More sleeps until Christmas!!

4 thoughts on “Happy Homemaker Monday 12/07

  1. Those cookies sound so holiday and yummy!! 😉

    You’re library is gorgeous! What fun photos and you Gals did a great job on the display windows!!

    I always love the drums too. And I used to think I wanted to be a drummer – way back when I played flute as a youngin’. I don’t think my folks wanted to encourage that though. Lol 🙂 I’ll have to check out that video.

    Your activities sound so fun – ice sculptures and reindeer on parade! Lol Sounds so fun!!!
    Have a wonderful rest of your week Sweetie. xoox

    Liked by 1 person

    • My brothers had several bands during their high school years, I don’t know how my parent’s put up with them, but they did 🙂 Our weather this weekend will be in the 60’s so the ice sculptors have been postponed. You know I’m wishing for snow soon!!

      Hope you HAD a wonderful week (ugh, since it is already over). Have a great weekend dear gal!! xx

      Like

    • This cookie recipe is actually out of our family cookbook. Everyone contributed their favorite recipes, and someone put it together. These are the best, and pretty easy to make. 🙂 Your secret is safe with me, lol…I like Selena Gomez too. Hope you had a great week Joanna!! xx

      Like

I appreciate your comments...so go ahead and leave one...don't be shy :-) (comments show up once I approve them).

