Happy Homemaker Monday 07/13

4810327544_8de76ff062

Linking-up with Sandra at Diary of a Stay at Home Mom.

It’s Monday again.  Not much going on, here’s to another week…hope you have a good one!!

 
 

THE WEATHER OUTSIDE IS:
0713weatherLooked like it was going to rain all day today, but it has turned out to be a sunny day.

CURRENTLY READING/HAVE READ:
Currently I’m reading Almost Home by Susan Mallery as part of the Summer Reading program.  I’m halfway through it, and it’s very good so far.

After 10 years as a sous-chef, Jenna finds herself back home and in front of a store front with a for lease sign in the window, impulsively she signs the lease to open up her own cooking store.  With no business experience, she hires a manager named Violet, who has a troubled past, but the two become fast friends, determined to make the store a success.  As if running a new store wasn’t stressful enough, in walks Jenna’s free-spirited biological parents, who now want to be a part of her life, though she is very happy with the conservative adoptive parents that raised her.  Very good characters again, Susan Mallery’s stories are always fun to read.

ON THE MENU THIS WEEK:
I need to do some more shopping, but have these few things planned:
Chicken and Rice casserole
Lasagna Pasta, salad, garlic bread
BBQ pork sandwiches and fries

NEW RECIPE I TRIED OR WANT TO TRY THIS WEEK:
I’ve recently started making this casserole again.  This is my variation, I really don’t remember the original recipe.  Also, I would make this after Thanksgiving using left over turkey meat, which is good too, thus the idea of serving it with cranberry sauce.  But for everyday, you can just use chicken.

Chicken Casserole

Ingredients:
1 ½ lbs cooked chicken
1 can cream of celery soup
1 can or frozen green beans
1 8 oz. Container sour cream
1 pkg. Pepperidge Farm Herb Seasoned cubed stuffing
1 cup Chicken broth
Poultry Season

Cook chicken however you like.  I put mine in the crockpot and season with Poultry season and pepper.  In a large bowl, mix together chicken, soup, green beans sour cream chicken broth and half of the cubed stuffing.  Sprinkle poultry season over top of mixture and mix in.  Place in a greased 9 x 13 pan.  Cover top of casserole with the remaining cubed stuffing.  Bake for 20 – 25 minutes at 350.  Serve with cranberry sauce sliced over the top.

MY FAVORITE BLOG POST/VIDEO THIS WEEK:
Those of us who grew up in the 80s all remember Live Aid, can’t believe it’s been 30 years (yes that shows my age 😉 )  This is a lengthy article, but fun to read, as some of the alumni from the live concerts reminisce about what actually took place during that time and what Live Aid was all about.  As Martha Quinn (one of the original VJs of MTV) is quoted as saying “Live Aid 1985 was probably the pinnacle of rock ‘n’ roll.”

Find the article and videos here:

https://www.yahoo.com/music/an-oral-history-of-live-aid-the-ones-who-made-a-123778461786.html?soc_src=mags&soc_trk=copy

WHAT I’M LOOKING FORWARD TO THIS WEEK:
Cruise Night.  Once a month our town opens up the main street for car enthusiasts to showcase their classic/muscle cars, with 50’s music playing as you stroll down the street.  So much fun…so many cars, almost 10 blocks worth.  This month there will be some Hollywood cars showcased.

FAVORITE PHOTO FROM THE CAMERA:
This is the little garden oasis my mom and I constructed over the last couple of years.

INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES (PRAYERS OR DEVOTIONALS):

 

One thought on “Happy Homemaker Monday 07/13

  1. Another wonderful sounding book I’ve written down for my list! I’ve been so bad about reading this summer (other than magazines)- I hope I’ll be better this Fall. The good news is I’ve been exercising more and that’s how I’ve been choosing to spend my down time when I get it (and coloring!! Lol)

    That recipe sound so yummy – who doesn’t love Thanksgiving all in one bite!?!

    Oh my 80’s Gal – you know I’m your kindred spirit there…I remember the Live Aid music well. It truly doesn’t seem like it should have been that long ago, does it???

    LOVE love love your sweet oasis. That tree is so perfect where it is…I just want to swing away right there.
    Happy week Sweetie!! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

I appreciate your comments...so go ahead and leave one...don't be shy :-) (comments show up once I approve them).

