Happy Homemaker Monday 06/08

4810327544_8de76ff062Hope everyone is having some nice weather, and making plans for the summer.  Can’t believe another week has gone by, but here’s what’s been going on, and what’s up ahead.

As always Linking-up with Sandra at Diary of a Stay at Home Mom.

 

THE WEATHER OUTSIDE IS:
Looks like a rainy week ahead.  Today started out hot and sunny, and then out of no where we got hit with a storm, heavy downpours and hail.  I do like a nice summer storm every once in awhile.

CURRENTLY READING/HAVE READ:
The Memory Thief by Emily Colin.  Actually my mom found this one for me (she is the librarian) to read for the reading program.  Haven’t started it yet, but it looks really good.  The summary on the back describes Madeline losing her husband in an avalanche, the news is delivered to her by her husband’s best friend, who has been in love with her for years.  She is left to raise her son, who has some kind of secret.  Then across the country this guy wakes up from a motorcycle accident with his memory wiped clean.  But he is haunted by dreams of a mysterious woman and a little boy, neither of whom he has ever met.  Sounds really good!!

gopher1AS I LOOK OUTSIDE MY WINDOW:
This actually happened yesterday.   I was finishing up the dishes, and I look outside the kitchen window, and there right in front of the garage was a furry creature.  I was like “What the heck is that?”  I’ve never seen anything like it before.  It looked like a rabbit and a squirrel.  We have had a lot of rabbits in our yard recently, but I’ve never seen a gopher before, and yep that is what is was.  If you happened to read my Blogbattle Week 8 story, you’ll understand why I was a little bit freaked out, isn’t he cute though? (well…he looked just like this…this is a stock photo, lol).

ON THE TV:
Not much now that summer is here.

ON THE TO DO LIST:
Tomorrow is our last day of school.  I’m finishing up report cards.  Also on the last day of school I give the kids a candy bar with a customized wrapper, congratulating them on their next grade level promotion.

ON THE MENU THIS WEEK:
Cheesy Chicken Pasta
Chicken Parmigiana, Alfredo noodles, green beans, Italian bread
Need to shop and plan further

NEW RECIPE I TRIED OR WANT TO TRY THIS WEEK:
The Chicken & Rice Casserole was very good.  Here is the recipe for that.  It’s definitely a good meal for the winter, very hearty.  But it worked well last week when we had some chilly days.

Chicken & Rice Casserole

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups cooked chicken, diced
2 cups cooked rice
2 carrots, peeled and finely chopped
1 1/2 cups whole milk
1 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
1/2 cup breadcrumbs
3/4 cup frozen peas, thawed
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, divided
kosher salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400º F and lightly grease a 9×13-inch baking dish.
2. In a large saucepan over medium heat, melt 4 tablespoons butter, then whisk in flour and cook for 1-2 minutes, or until smooth.
3. While whisking continuously, gradually pour in milk and chicken broth and stir until totally incorporated.
4. Add chicken, rice and veggies to the broth mixture and season with salt and pepper.
5. Transfer chicken and rice mixture to baking dish and sprinkle parmesan and breadcrumbs evenly over the top.
6. Cut up remaining butter into small pieces and dot those over the breadcrumbs.
7. Place baking dish in oven and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until bubbly and golden brown.
8. Remove from oven and serve hot.

MY FAVORITE BLOG POST/VIDEO THIS WEEK:
Sunday morning as I was drinking my coffee and catching up on some of the bloggers I follow, I came across this.  This made my day, I was laughing so hard reading it, too funny.  Blondewritemore never fails to put a smile on my face when reading her posts, or completely draws me in with her story writing.

FAVORITE PHOTO FROM THE CAMERA:
I have posted this one before.  But I am so proud of my daughter, she submitted some of her photography to our local Art Gallery, and this one was chosen for Concepts and Compositions, a national juried art show.  This photo will be on display at the Art Gallery for several weeks, and there will be a reception towards the end of June.  There are also prizes for each category represented in the exhibit, which includes painting and mixed media art as well as photography. (It is actually her in the photo). ♥

A Crazy Upside Down World, Can Still Be Beautiful © 2015

 

INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES (PRAYERS OR DEVOTIONALS):

 

3 thoughts on “Happy Homemaker Monday 06/08

  1. What a great quote! I think I’ll add that book to my want to read list. I’m intrigued by the description. Your gopher looks a bit like what we call groundhogs around here. I wonder if they are the same things? Many congrats to your daughter on her achievement! I guess I should say hope you’ve had a wonderful week as it’s Friday and I’m still reading Monday posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Hon!
    Sorry I’m playing catch up. It’s been a busy start to my week.

    Hope your weather gets better, but I love a good storm sometimes too.

    Happy end of school! I bet it will be a fun day. 😉

    That book does sound really cool! And that recipe sounds so yummy! Your daughter’s photo is amazing! She’s beautiful & talented!! Xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

I appreciate your comments...so go ahead and leave one...don't be shy :-) (comments show up once I approve them).

