Book Review: Crooked Lines by Holly Michael

indexI am so excited about this book.  I love a good book, especially when it is written by one of my friends!! You can read about how I met Holly Michael at the end, but first the book review!!

This book draws you in with the very first sentence.  It tells the story of the spiritual journey taken by each of the two main characters, Rebecca and Sagai.  But they are worlds apart; Rebecca is from Wisconsin and Sagai is from South India.

Rebecca has so many questions that need to be answered.  As the story unfolds so many times I could feel her emotional pain, I felt her frustrations and sometimes her self doubt, which lead me to keep turning the page in hopes that she would find her answers.  She is a strong woman with determination that continually shines through even in the face of obstacles.  Something all of us can strive to achieve.  She also had me smiling with some of her phrases and literally laughing out loud on one particular instance when she receives a book from her Mother-in-law.

Sagai is so dedicated.  He knows he is called to be a priest from a very early age, and he goes through anything and everything to fulfill his destiny.  He has a big heart and so wants to be a priest that he tends to look past things that he should be questioning.  Eventually his frustrations and doubts are revealed, which is very realistic even for someone who knows their purpose in live.  But it’s his faith in God that helps him continually move towards his destiny.

Holly writes about India and Sagai’s life in such detail.  I liked the way she used various greetings and phrases in different languages, to capture the heart of the culture.  Most of which I could not pronounce, but it did not take away from the story, it only enhanced it.  I also found myself Googling words for various things in the Indian culture to get a clearer picture of what she was talking about.  The story flows seamlessly between the two characters and cultures, and you get a clear understanding of the culture that Sagai comes from, (even without Googling).

This is such a good story, with great characters; something I really enjoy in a book.  One other thing I would like to mention is the cover; such a beautiful cover design!!  The main thing I liked about this story is that it isn’t about them finding religion, but finding their purpose and/or calling for their lives.  It is a true spiritual journey for both characters, not only in finding God, but also in finding their true selves.  Anyone can read this book regardless of your spiritual beliefs.  I especially like the one common thread throughout the book that actually binds the two characters together.  As I mentioned, the very first sentence draws you in, but it’s the last couple of sentences that makes you say “hmmm” with a smile on your face.  I actually like to read books that are part of a series…just sayin’. =]

A little background:

I met Holly Michael about 25 years ago, when she was my supervisor at my first office job.  She taught me how to operate a PC with no hard drive by using those 5 ¼ floppy disks.  She was the one that introduced me to “modern technology” and I continued through the years advancing along with it.  We worked together for several years, until she left to start her family.  I always knew she would be a great mom, her 3 grown children are shining examples of that.  Both her sons play football, one for the NFL and one for the Rajin’ Cajuns, and her beautiful daughter just started teaching at a University.  She talked about being a writer, and I always knew she would be a great writer, this book is a shining example of that.

I am a total book lover, I love the feel of a book in my hands…the clear black type on crisp new paper…turning each page…the new book smell.  But again, Holly has nudged me towards modern technology.  I never thought I would ever use a Kindle, since I am such a book lover.  But the anticipation of wanting to read this book got the better of me.  I do not own a Kindle (yet) so I downloaded a free Kindle app to my laptop just so I could download the book and finally read it!! (Yeah…not exactly the convenience a Kindle portrays in their commercials, but it served its purpose for me).

I am ordering it from Amazon, and you can too, just click on the book cover at the top.  I’m sure I will read it again when I get the book in my hands, just so I can get the whole new book experience.

You can find more from Holly Michael at:

www.writingstraight.com and www.indiascrown.com

One thought on “Book Review: Crooked Lines by Holly Michael

I appreciate your comments...so go ahead and leave one...don't be shy :-) (comments show up once I approve them).

